This quote says everything about the direction of LYV

Make meaning? Or nice-ing? 🙃

Life update. It’s been a minute. Too many minutes.

Recently, I realized how stagnant I’ve been feeling. How unmotivated, and apathetic towards my work I’ve been.

I don’t like that feeling. It’s felt very comfortable at times, sure.

But largely I haven’t felt challenged, and I feel like I’ve just been floundering.

I know that I want to have meaning in my work. I want to feel excited about what I put my effort into each and every day. I want to do things that bring me joy and fulfillment.

And I know I’m not alone.

😣 It pains me to have conversations with friends and peers that have lost their luster for life, are feeling disconnected, unmotivated, apathetic, and even clinically depressed.

I truly feel that the way to counter this floundering feeling is to make meaning of your life experiences and use that meaning to inform your attitude, actions, and aspirations.

🔥 What really lights my fire, personally, is facilitating community and conversation with those who have dealt with adversity, experienced undeniably harsh challenges in their lives, and illuminate how those people can thrive, not in spite of, but because of these challenging experiences.

There is so much to be learned from hardship and overcoming adversity - resilience for sure, building confidence in yourself, realizing what you’re good at, how you handle crisis, putting into perspective what actually matters to you in this life, knowing that you have the ability to choose to move forward despite obstacles, etc.

That quote I mentioned in the subject? It came from another write in my weekly writing circle:

You have to go through some crap to understand what your purpose is.

Fellow writer

She perfectly summed up my spiel with this one sentence. And I couldn’t agree more.

📢 An exciting announcement

Give everything mentioned above, I’m excited to share some news.

I’m considering launching a small community - a collective, if you will.

Now, I’ll be totally transparent with you: this idea is still in the… well… the ideation phase.

And it’s not because I don’t believe in it.

I have 100% conviction that there would be huge value in bringing people together to find meaning in their lives.

What I don’t have evidence for—yet—is whether there are individuals out there who would be willing to participate/show up/pay to be a part of this collective.

That’s where you come in.

Take a gander at what I’ve spun up below.

  • What are your thoughts? Does this appeal to you?

  • Would you pay to join a collective like this?

  • If not, what’s missing?

🤲 Meaning-Making Collective

Here is my ‘Why’ behind launching the Collective:

  • I’m genuinely interested and motivated to launch a community to help people make meaning of their life experiences, develop their purpose, and work towards a more fulfilling life

  • Having had several conversations with people that are struggling with the above recently, I really feel like I’m well-positioned to support others

  • I have over 10 years of combined experience in providing career and small business counseling in both a direct 1:1 and group setting

  • I’ve built additional skills in facilitation, community-building, leading workshops, and practice empathy and active listening on the reg

  • I’m intrigued with the idea of building in public

  • I know I’ll be more likely to put resources together to help people accomplish these things if they are paying to participate

  • I know how to help people work through the emotions, empathize, help them feel validated, and help them work towards bettering their life

  • This excites me because it feels like I’m lowering expectations and pressure, but still moving forward with testing the idea

  • I know that there might need to be a branding shift, but I feel it’s more important to start and build this together.

📋 Initial Deets

  • Will it cost to participate?

    • Sign up at $24/mo (Special Intro price for Founding Members).

    • If you can’t afford that, pay what you can.

    • We want to build this collective with the right people to create the right vibe. Let’s not let the cost be prohibitive.

  • What will I get for enrolling?

    • Access to our online community - the Meaning-Making Collective

    • 1:1 On-boarding call to identify areas where we can support you

    • An individualized fulfillment plan with structure and accountability

    • Tailored Workshops to help you develop purpose and build a more fulfilling life

    • Monthly group coaching sessions

    • Priority on programming and resources in the collective

    • Founding Member status noted by your “OG” badge

  • What platform will you use for the Collective?

    • Circle with apps available on iOS and Android

👋 Interested in joining the Meaning-Making Collective beta?

We want to get to know you and see if you match the vibe. We’ll keep it informal.

▶️ Reply to this email with a “Hey I’m interested and here’s why…”

🫵 Have you made meaning of your own experiences?

I want to hear about it!

Think of a particularly memorable or challenging experience you’ve had in your life. Think about the following prompts:

  • How did it shake you?

  • What were the initial emotions around this experience?

  • What did this experience teach you?

  • How does this shape who you are?

As LYV evolves over the next few months, I’m interested in talking to more folks about their painful/challenging/life-altering experiences, and how they’ve derived meaning from them.

If these sounds like something you’d like to share, hit me up by replying to this email.

That’s all for now.

If you found this email valuable, we see you and appreciate you 🙏 

If you think someone else might find this valuable, please forward it on. You rock! 🤘 

Til Next Week,

🥯 Bagel 🥯